6 Month Marker

This weekend marks my 6 months in Ukraine. Today I crossed the border by foot again. It was a little worrying being questioned or rather interrogated… I almost felt as if maybe I wouldn’t be let OUT of Ukraine to start with, which was different than what I was expecting. I didn’t do much today apart from sitting on the bus for 2 hours there and 2 hours back to Lviv… but I listened to music and looked out the window – admiring people’s houses in different towns, watching people get on and off the bus. Although it has been getting warmer here recently, today it was snowing so it was also peaceful to watch the snow falling (from inside the bus). Walking into the horizontally flying snow is a different story!)

Also with St Patrick’s Day coming up, I have been thinking about this time last year and my 2 weeks travelling around Ireland. I’m having one of my flashback moments and one thing which I often think about: Isn’t it funny how you meet some people that you instantly click with, and you have this short time frame, a tiny segment of a person’s life – where you may never meet them again but you feel like you know them on a deep level. When you are travelling you are instantly bonding with people, putting all of your trust in the people you meet because you have no other choice. You are always out of your comfort zone and with other travellers also being in this position, you can’t help but connect with them easily. I hold these memories of people really close to my heart because everyone was different. Every person I have met, I have learnt new things about the world and I believe it has made me a better person. This past year has been amazing!

Tomorrow I have been invited to a house party to celebrate St Patrick’s Day…. so I will be making a toast to all of my travelling friends whom I have met over the years)

“To my mind, the greatest reward & luxury of travel is to be able to experience everyday things as if for the first time, to be in a position in which almost nothing is so familiar it is taken for granted.”
Leave a Reply

